Kairosclerosis

Kairosclerosis

n. the moment you realize that you’re currently happy—consciously trying to savor the feeling—which prompts your intellect to identify it, pick it apart and put it in context, where it will slowly dissolve until it’s little more than an aftertaste.

 

Image

Somewhere along this road,I am going to live in an upright rectangle house.It will be painted white,I will look out of my window,drinking mountain dew and think of the happiest time I had when I was an adolescent.When I was still lingering around,figuring out what to do with my life.I’d think of my friends and I not being old enough to drink.I watch them drink milk,and they watch me talk shit.I’ll think of the times when my best friend and I lay on her wooden floor listening to Elbow.I’ll think of the times when my other best friends and I sit together with our backs on the wall behind the hall,just talking about nothing in particular,killing time.I’ll think of that moment when everyone went to play badminton and I stayed indoors talking to her about what her therapist and nutritionist told her.I’ll think about pretending to be a Japanese in Egypt,and thinking if my tongue will be so cold that snowflakes will stick on  it in Japan.At that moment,I didn’t think much and didn’t reach far enough to realize these things are making me happy.Killing time with people I actually give a fuck about.Watching people I care about drink milk.Pretending not to understand English as we shuffle past Egyptian salesmen.Looking back,I never could have been happier.Why is it that things are only more beautiful when you reminisce them?

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

